Pit Reactions

I have recently read the book by Beth Moore “Get out of that Pit”, it was one an awesome book. While reading I started thinking about the different pits that I have been in and the different ways I got there. It also helped me to see that every time I came out of those pits it was God who helped me, and healed me.

Not to long ago my husband and I were watching the new “Robin Hood” movie with Russell Crowe. There was a part where he and Marian were walking. They came across some men trying to get a ram out of a pit of mud having great difficulty. When Marian saw the ram struggling she jumped in and while trying to free the ram ended up getting her self stuck in the mud and unable to move. Marian did not think before she jumped. She took action, but it was a reaction verses examining situation. This act reminded me of the many times I have jumped in and taken action, a reaction verses asking God what action I should have taken. Let me ask you a question when you start feeling sick do you think of God first or the doctor first? Or When money is short do you think of asking someone for it or asking God? These are all examples of taking actions a reaction verses asking God what action should I take.

What happened next in the movie was both awesome and eye opening. While Marian is stuck and up to her chest with mud. Russell Crowe gets a rope secures it and ties it around his waist. He then goes in pulls out the ram then goes back in after Marian. Now you may ask how did he get out he used the rope that was secured and was able to pull both out of the mud.

One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 40:1-3, where David talks about how God pulled him out of a pit.

1 I waited patiently for the LORD;
And He inclined to me,
And heard my cry.
2 He also brought me up out of a horrible pit,
Out of the miry clay,
And set my feet upon a rock,
And established my steps.
3 He has put a new song in my mouth—
Praise to our God;
Many will see it and fear,
And will trust in the LORD.

You see if we are in a pit no matter what kind of pit we are in, all we have to do is cry out to God. However when you cry out to God have and expectation that God is going to answer you and He may he may answer in unrepentant ways. We may have to wait patiently but God will hear our cry every time and He will bring us out of the pit. Here is the best part do not miss it, not only will God bring us out of the miry clay that is holding us down but God will also set our feet upon a solid rock. God will not set our feet on unstable ground, He sets our feet on a good foundation. Then we can praise God for our delivery and trust in Him who freed us.

Are you reacting and jumping into pits or asking God and surveying the situation?

Leave a Reply

