Thanksgiving Thoughts

I love the holiday season. I love spending time with my family, and friends. I enjoy the different foods, the shopping and the decorations. To make it simple I love the whole holiday season, both Thanksgiving and Christmas. My Aunt Mable instilled that joy of the holidays. She always had homemade candies and a huge meal fixed for the family. She and my uncle would  have everything perfect, but it was not just the food that made it perfect it was the family.

You see when my parents divorced my mom and I lived with them for several years from the time I was 8 till I was around 13 years old. Aunt Mabel could not walk or move around very well due to Rheumatoid arthritis, but I am here to tell you that woman could get more done from her bed or the living room than anyone I have every seen. My uncle would be in the kitchen and she would be giving instructions on what to do and how to cook it. Here is how Thanksgiving day would unfold. My mom, uncle, and aunt would wake up early and begin preparing food, cutting, chopping, making cakes and pies. Then I would wake up and then I would go crawl into my aunts bed and she and I would have breakfast brought to us and we would watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving day parade. This was my special time with her. We would talk about what we were thankful for and watch all the bands and dancing of the parade it was amazing.

My aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer that spread to her lymphoid I do not remember how old I was when she was first diagnosed. When I was 16 my mom and I had been moved out into a place of our own. My aunt was having to stay in the bed at that time, she was really sick at this point. That year I almost decided to not go over and watch the parade with her, she called me that morning and asked if I was coming over. There was something in her voice that day and I knew that I had to go. It turned out to be one of my favorite days with her. She told me how proud she was of me, and how much she loved me. We spoke about my future. We watched the parade it was awesome, I did not know at that moment that it would be the last time I would watch the parade with her. She passed away that spring, I still remember exactly where I was when I found out. This year just like years past (there have not been to many parades that I have missed) I will watch the parade and at some point I will thank God for allowing me the honor of having that wonderful woman in my life.

She was an amazing woman, with a great amount of strength and determination. She help teach me to be thankful for everyday that you are given and to treasure your family and to love them deeply. My challenge to you this Thanksgiving is to treasure your family yes, some of them may get on your nerves but they are your family, thank God for them.

What are you thankful for, who are you thankful for? I would love to hear from you.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

