To Assume or not to Assume that is the question

Have you ever assumed one thing and it turned out to be another. This is one area that I would love to say that I have never done, but it is not. I have made so many assumptions in my life that have caused so much turmoil, not just for me but for others. In fact, truth of the matter I have made assumptions that have almost ruined friendships, causing pain not only to me but to others as well. Please understand this is not something that I am proud of.

The word assume is a dangerous word. When we assume the thoughts and motives of an individual, we allow an avenue for the enemy to walk right in and leave a trail of doubt, confusion, which can lead to hurt, bitterness and offense. Assumptions are misleading; they cause your mind to go down paths usually causing issues that lead to someone being hurt and relationship that needs mending.

Dictionary.com states the following definitions for the word assumption:

1. Something taken for granted; a supposition

2. The act of taking for granted or supposing.

3. The act of taking to or upon oneself.

4. The act of taking possession of something.

5. Arrogance

Now, I have to admit when I read the above definitions, it totally stepped on my toes. When I was ten I was diagnosed with a seizure disorder, with me taking medicine and having seizures at times I had to tell people. There were times when I would feel like I was being treated different, that people were talking about me because I had seizures. Funny thing is they were not talking about me at all. I was assuming and truth is I probably could have been better friends with those I went to school with if I had not assumed the worst.

 When assumptions are made you are taking a risk, a risk that could cause pain. You are also taking it upon yourself that you know what the other person is thinking when you do not. You may think that you know, but the truth is you do not. Understand you are not a mind reader. No one knows the heart or the mind of a person except for God.

Jeremiah 17:9-10

9 “ The heart is deceitful above all things,
And desperately wicked;
Who can know it?
10 I, the LORD, search the heart,
I test the mind,
Even to give every man according to his ways,
According to the fruit of his doings.

Therefore to assume is to take on the position that belongs to God. Only God can know the heart of a man.

Our mind is a battle field, which is why we have to take every thought captive. We need to stop at the moment we recognize the thought as an assumption then disregard it, and throw it out verses allowing the thought to take action. When you make an assumption, that is an action, a thought that you are acting upon. Therefore do not speak in assumptions and speculations they will only cause issues that could have been avoided. Speak with truth and fact, for that is the right thing to do. I am often reminded of a scene in one of my favorite movies “Pollyanna”. The Pastor and Pollyanna are talking in a field. The Pastor is asking Pollyanna about the glad game that she plays. She then speaks of her father and shows him the locket her father gave her. Written on the locket were the following words “if you look for the bad in people you will surly find it”. You see Pollyanna and her father choose to look for the best in people. The bible tells us how our thoughts should be.

Philippians 4: 8

8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

So, are you going to assume or not assume that is the question.

4 thoughts on “To Assume or not to Assume that is the question

    • Yes, I have read that book. Honestly, I have just really really been thinking about how so many (myself included at times) assume the worst, think the worst, then end up excepting the worst in different situations. Many times we end up making the situation worse than what it is. Thanks for reading the blog means a lot. 🙂

      Tracy

Leave a Reply

