Love Is

Today is Valentines Day. The day where love should be all around us, but really love should be carried out everyday of our life. We should show love in all that we say and in all that we do. However many times we all fall short. In fact there are even some people who do not even know what love is or they have an incorrect view on love.
Jesus is the ultimate reflection of love. Therefore if we as Christians show people that love then we are showing them Jesus. Thing is many times we don’t. We are even told exactly what love is:

1 Corinthians 13:3-8

3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing. 4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails.
Now I don’t know about you but I have read this passage so many times and have heard it in several different sermons (not to mention all the weddings) yet there are times I still fall short. I have fallen short with my family, friends, co-workers, even people I don’t know. How many times have you said something or did something to someone you care about only to open your mouth and the words not be of love but hurt and pain. I have done in fact on more than one occasion. To be honest many of those times it has been with the ones that I love the most.

Today is Valentines day, the day of love. I purpose that not only should we demonstrate how much we love others today but everyday. Send a card to a friend, call or text just because without an agenda, or if someone hurts you instead of being offended love them back. Why because Jesus is love and love is Jesus, by showing love we are showing and demonstrating the love of Jesus.

Remember Love never fails and if love never fails then Jesus never fails.

2 thoughts on “Love Is

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by the A Martha Heart site, and leaving me an encouraging comment. Praise God you are free from your addiction to work… It doesn’t really matter what the addiction is…in Christ we all can be free.

    Praise God for your husband’s progress to. I know the Made to Crave book I mentioned is sort of directed to women, but there have been many men that have been encouraged by the principles that Lysa shares in her book. It maybe one that your husband might like to read…

    Blessings, and come back and visit anytime.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

