Perception Matters

I have been thinking about the word perception, specifically about my perceptions in situations, and the perception that I have about myself. What I have come up with is that my perception makes a difference concerning situations and in how I view myself. My perceptions will have an affect on the outcome of situations and will affect my relationship with people that I am around. Therefore I have decided to begin a blog series called “Perceptions Matter”. Now, I have no idea weather this will be a two part blog or several, we will just have to see what God wants to do.

In this series I am going to be looking at perceptions in situations, how our perception affect our relationships, our perception of ourselves and changing our perception is a must in most areas. The first thing that we need to understand is that our perceptions are incorrect the majority of the time, mainly because we base on feelings verse truth. Our feelings can be misleading and can lead to us believing something that is not true. The enemy wants us to rely on our feelings, because he is the father of lies. See John 8:44. The second thing we need to realize is that God’s perception is always right and is always truthful.
The definitions to the word perception according to dictionary.com is:

 

1.the act or faculty of apprehending by means of the senses or of the mind; cognition; understanding.

2.immediate or intuitive recognition or appreciation, as of moral, psychological, or aesthetic qualities; insight; intuition; discernment: an artist of rare perception.
In our life there are many things of this world that can lead us down the path of having a false perception. That is why it is so important that we are grounded in the truth and that we allow God to give us the insight that we need in a situation or relationship. Before Jesus left to ascend into heaven He told the disciples that he was sending the comforter.

John 16:12-15 (The Message)

12-15″I still have many things to tell you, but you can’t handle them now. But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you. Everything the Father has is also mine. That is why I’ve said, ‘He takes from me and delivers to you.’

More to come.

Leave a Reply

