How is your perception of you?

How do you see yourself? Do you have a set of words that you use to describe yourself? If so are they positive or negative? Have you allowed others to speak words of junk into your life and accepted them? I ask these questions for the following reason; the way that you see yourself can affect the way that others see you. The way you see yourself can also affect how others treat you. I have made the following statement in the other posts concerning perception, your perception matters.

Now, I am an encourager at heart, I love to encourage the people that I am around. I also usually see the glass as half full verses half empty. Even though I like to see the best in others and encourage, I have not always seen myself in a positive way. I have not always seen myself as God sees me. In my past I have had to deal with issues like insecurity, rejection, and unworthiness, all three of these can make it rather difficult to see yourself in a positive light.

You and I are not rejected we are accepted. We are not deemed unworthy but worthy. We are loved in spite of anything we have done. God loves us so much and desires a relationship with us.

John 3:16-17

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. 17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.

So, with God accepting us and loving us so very much why is that we have such an incorrect perception of ourselves. Why do we talk down about ourselves and allow others to do the same. The truth is if we have accepted Jesus as our person savior then we are a new creation and should look at ourselves as that new creation not the old.

Therefore next time you have an ugly perception of yourself remind yourself of who you are: a child of the Most High God, chosen by God, accepted by God.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

