Building Memories

My family and I just got back from vacation and it was amazing. We went to Townsend, Tennessee. It was our first vacation in several years. Now, I have been to Tennessee before but I was just a little girl. Prior to my parents’ divorce my Grandparents took me to a theme park called Opryland (which is no longer open). During that trip I remember my Papa riding every ride with me, and listening to all the different shows. I don’t remember the beautiful scenery or seeing the mountains on way there. Honestly for me it was all about how fun we were going to have. This trip however I was all about spending time with my family and seeing the scenery.

Our trip began on Wednesday, my husband and I left that morning headed for Chattanooga Tennessee.  Our ride there was so great; we sang songs together on the way and listened to Pastor Mark Driscoll’s series called “The Peasant Princess”. Thursday we got up and started the next leg of our trip to Townsend Tennessee. I cannot begin to tell you how beautiful the mountains were. That night I sat on the front porch and watched the lightening bugs and just listening to the sound of nature.

We were in Tennessee till Sunday, during that time I climbed up “Clingmans Dome” (blog to follow), saw bears, deer, wild turkeys, and snakes. We went into a cavern and saw beautiful rock formations and played in the steams of “Cades Cove. Our family created wonderful memories that we will treasure. This in turn reminded me of a verse in the book of Psalm.

Psalm 143:5

I remember the days of long ago;
I meditate on all your works
and consider what your hands have done.

The treasures or memories from our vacation I will continue to ponder in my heart. I did not realize until writing this blog that I had treasured up memories from my first trip with my Grandparents.

More blogs from our vacation of what God showed me and taught me to follow.

Leave a Reply

