Pictures of Worship Part 1

Psalms 66:1-4

1 Shout for joy to God, all the earth;
2sing the glory of his name;
give to him glorious praise!
3Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds!
So great is your power that your enemies come cringing to you.
4 All the earth worships you
and sings praises to you;
they sing praises to your name.”
Selah

Some friends and I were discussing worship, what it is, and the purpose of it, the different aspects and what all worship includes. I want to talk about corporate worship in regards to engaging worship in the act of singing, raising of hands, clapping of hands, signing and even dancing.

I enjoy corporate worship, singing, raising my hands, clapping and even dancing. Truth be told it is one of my favorite parts of church, and a few weeks ago God allowed me see a side of worship on a different level. So, let me ask you a question have you ever just watched people worship in church? Now I don’t mean staring or watching to the point being rude. I mean to allow yourself to see others worship that brings you to tears or is so inspiring that you can’t help but join in. It is amazing both inspiring and encouraging. Let me explain, the church I attend has an amazing worship service through music. A few weeks ago my husband suggested that we sit in balcony and it was there that God showed me the most incredible pictures of worship I have ever seen over the course of a few weeks. Allow me to share these five pictures with you. This blog will have the first two pictures; the last three will be in part two.

My first picture- As I was standing, singing and praising God I looked over and saw an elderly woman. She could not move as well as other around her, she could not raise her hands and arms above her head but she was doing what she could. She moved her arms back and forth and then clapped her hands. I could tell she was not clapping loud but she was doing what she could do. I looked at her face and could literally see the love that she had for her Father in heaven. I could not help it I had tears well up in my eyes. It was beautiful; the joy this woman had was awesome, her desire to worship was encouraging.  It caused me to want to press even further into worship.

My second picture- As my husband and I was walking into church we saw a gentleman in wheelchair we said good morning and he responded with a good morning. Through our conversation we discovered that he had rode in his electronic wheelchair from his house because he wanted to come to church. He said bye, we went into church and sat again in the balcony. We began to sing I again saw the elderly woman but then I saw the gentleman in the wheelchair. What I saw next brought tears to my eyes. He did not have good use of his motor skills but his act of worship was breath taking. He was raising his hands and trying to clap to the best of his ability. It made me realize how often we take those abilities for granted. There he was having to really work hard to get his muscles to cooperate to raise his hand to Jesus and mine were at my side. I had to think of how many times I was guilty of not doing something as a form of worship because of what someone might think. He did not care about anyone around him, he was worshipping Jesus. It was the most amazing, beautiful, encouraging, and inspiring act of worship.

Part two of this blog will include the last three pictures of worship. For now consider these questions, what does worship mean to you, what does it look like for you? Do you worship freely or do you question what others are thinking? Feel free to leave your comments.

2 thoughts on “Pictures of Worship Part 1

    • Thank you, I have to give you some of the credit. While I was under your leadership, you encouraged to look deep into worship and not to put it in a box. You also not to always look and learn from the most common. So thank you.

Leave a Reply

