Grave Clothes of Life

I have just started a new biblical study the book is called “Lazarus Awakening” by Joanna Weaver. The study is the third book in a series called The Bethany Series. The first two studies are “Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World” and “Having a Mary Spirit”. Each one of the studies is about Mary, Martha and now Lazarus. I am currently on week two but have already gotten so much out this study.

One of the assignments was to read John 11:1-12:11, which is the story where Lazarus is sick and his sisters send word to Jesus. Jesus returns to Bethany and calls Lazarus from the grave. In our reading I was asked to pick out the key phrases that spoke to me.   As I was reading I came upon a verse that I have read many times but this time I began to ponder on the verse.

John 11:44

“The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”

Lazarus was bound. His hands, feet, face, arms, legs and well the rest of his body. I began to think about the different things or situations in life that can put us in grave clothes and keep us bound. There have been many times in my life that I have been so bound you would have thought I had grave clothes on. I remember the first time I felt the freedom that only Jesus can give. I was at a retreat and it was that weekend that I began to allow God to heal some of the areas in my life that had been binding me up for many years. Now I did not deal with everything that weekend but looking back now it was the first time that the grave clothes began coming off. After that weekend many more layers have come off.

Ask yourself the following questions: What grave clothes are binding you and keeping you from the freedom that Jesus desires for you? How long before you allow the grave clothes to come off?

 

Leave a Reply

