The Friend I never knew

Your head is spinning because you just received the worst news possible. What news could that be? What news could change your life forever?

You are sitting in an office looking at the doctor you have come to pour your hope into. The next words he has to say to you are life changing. What will he say? What is the prognosis? Have the test come back positive?

You mind is racing a thousand miles a minute. It swarms with question after question right until you see the doctor open his mouth to tell you what the test have revealed. As he starts to speak everything slows to a frozen crawl. Each words falls from his mouth like a guillotine hacking away at you hope, your light, you’re ……..life!

Stunned, you are not quite sure you heard him right. It takes a moment for the words to penetrate first your mind, then your soul and lastly your heart.  You have just been given the sentence of death. Not just any death. Not, you have three months to live prognosis. You have the rest of your life to live but it will not be pleasant. You will gradually start to lose the basic functions of life quickly then you will have to rely on others for your entire life’s being. Your life is over.

So what do you do now? What can you do?  What can you do but rely on others. Or….is there something more you can do?

One short week ago I stumbled upon a blog about a woman who had a chronic illness and was homebound who choose to do something with her life. Her name was Sara her blog was http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com/.  I have never met her, never had the opportunity to email her, or even commit on one of her post. Believe it or not I met this young woman through her friends and fellow bloggers and blog followers. As I went from blog to blog I was awed at the impact this woman had on so many people.

I found myself wanting to know more about her so I started with her blog, and read some of her post on http://www.incourage.me/ where she also posts.  I was amazed how a woman who was in such pain could bring so much joy in others life. The more I read the more I admired this woman. By Friday I felt like she was my friend. How is it possible to feel like you have a friend with someone that you only know through words on a computer scene? Her words were encouraging, and powerful.

Now the first blog that I read that mentioned Sara was a blog on http://www.incourage.me/  about friendships. When I went to Sara’s blog I discovered that she was in her final days. You see those that Sara wrote with and those that she encouraged through her words were now doing the same for her. I lost count of all the commits concerning Sara and words of love. I found myself praying not only for Sara but for her family and friends.

This past Sunday morning I got up and went to Sara’s web site and found out that Sara had passed away the night before. I was saddened tears were in my eyes for a beautiful woman that I had only known for a week was gone.

What did I learn from this wonderful woman to live life honest, show love, truth and treasure those in your live even if it is only through words through a computer screen? Her words have impacted so many lives. Sara did what Paul says in 2 Timothy 4:7 ESV

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

She finished her race but her words will continue through her friend and her writings. Thank you, Sara for impacting my life even in your final days.

 

5 thoughts on “The Friend I never knew

  1. Wow Tracy, beautiful story about a beautiful woman. Thanks for the link to her blogs….. I look forward to reading them.

  2. Tracy,
    Nice to meet you! You have a beautiful blog! My suggestion would be to add more pictures into it. We are a very visual culture, so pictures capture our attention. Also, I would recommend playing with some different styles of writing. You are a great writer but sometimes we have to play with the presentation a little. For instance, some writers use a lot of white space- breaking up their paragraphs into sentences on every line, lists can be really helpful for making a longer post feel shorter, etc. I try to constantly learn about what writing techniques are most effective by reading other blogs and noticing how people respond to the writer. Hope that helps!

    Blessings,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

