Senior Year Day One

A Mothers Heart Part IV

I still remember Stefan’s first day of school when he started kindergarten. We were living in the small town of Graceville, Florida. Ron was attending The Baptist College of Florida. I was working in the nearby city.

The week before school started there was an open house and we got to meet his teacher Mrs. Odom. We had heard wonderful things about her and we were very excited.

The following week the day came, it was the first day of school. We got up that morning fixed Stefan breakfast helped him get ready and then out the door. The first day we had decided that both Ron and I would take him to school. I was so excited for my little man.

We walked him into the class; Mrs. Odom had all of their seats labeled with their names. He found his seat gave me a hug and a kiss. He looked at me and said mommy I will be very good today. I hugged him back kissed his cheek and left my baby.

I cried all the way to work.

12 Years later………..

August 15, 2011, I woke up to find my son getting ready for school. You know how they look dragging around not wanting to be up that early, that was not the case this morning. Stefan was excited he was awake and alert; this was the first day of his senior year. This year he would be ending a huge chapter in his life so that he could start something new.

I decided that I would go ahead and fix his lunch for him. He has been making his lunch himself for years, but this morning I wanted to do that for him. He thanked me and gave me hug and of course I melted.

He got his backpack, lunch and change of clothes bag and headed towards the door. He then turned and said by mom I love you. It was at that moment my heart ached. I realized that I would not be taking him to school, he was taking himself. Last year he did not have a vehicle and therefore I took him to school, I did not realize that was last time I would take him the day of school. You see I have taken this little boy too school the first day every year.  I suddenly realized there would be no more first days of school. My eyes then filled with tears. Next year he would be college and that was different.

That afternoon Stefan came home and as usually I asked him to tell me about his day. He shared with me about his friends; he told me all about his classes and who all was in his classes. There was such an excitement in his voice. He was ready for the year.

Tip for moms: Treasure every moment with your child, because one day you will turn around and they will be grown.

5 thoughts on “Senior Year Day One

  1. This is so absolutely true! We don’t have any children but we place our marriage above all else in our life for this very reason. Time flies and we want to make sure we never miss an I love you, I need you or I’m so happy you’re mine :).

Leave a Reply

