A Surprise at Thanksgiving

The past few weeks I have been a little sad. Why you may ask, well because I love having a big Thanksgiving being surrounded by family, eating the traditional meal with all the trimmings and watching the Macy’s Thanksgivings Day Parade.  This year was going to be different.

This year we were not going to be with family or even have the traditional meal. We did have plans to watch the parade.  See my husband and I were going out of town to see his foster parents. (Post to follow on the visit) Since we were leaving early Friday we decided not to make big plans for Thanksgiving. When this decision was first made it did not really bother me, until I thought about what I would be missing. I knew it was the best decision and so I had decided to make the best of it and be thankful for being able to be with my husband and son.

Thanksgiving Day………………..

I got up and put on a pot of coffee and fixed my boys biscuits and homemade gravy with scrambled eggs. We turned on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade which was great as usual.

During the parade I called both Grandmothers and then called my Dad. I told my Dad our plans, that we were going to Memphis on Friday then go on to Springfield Missouri. Then suddenly my Dad purposed that we drive to Birmingham and have Thanksgiving. You see this was my Dad reaching out (yet another post to follow).

So, what did we do…………………

Well, we packed up and were in Birmingham by 4:00. Dinner was on the table by 5:00.

What started out as a non-traditional Thanksgiving ended up being a very traditional Thanksgiving.

It was an amazing day and I hold all the memories very close to my heart. What I learned was don’t get so caught up in the traditions that you miss the blessings and surprises that God may have for you.

4 thoughts on “A Surprise at Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

