Are you ready to change (Insecurity Series Part 2)

Insecurity, you have to admit the word really does not even sound good. Insecurity also plagues many of us weather we want admit it or not. One of the main problems with insecurity is that it will continue to affect your life until you are ready to deal with and make the change from insecurity to security.

In Beth Moore’s book “So Long Insecurity” I find it very interesting that the title of the first chapter is “Mad Enough to Change”. In truth that is the truth until we get mad enough not to allow insecurity to run our life and change we will stay the same.  Now I have dealt with insecurity for a good portion of my life and over the years have dealt with pushed it down and then allowed it back in however, today I am ready to get rid of it for good, not just layers but for good.

For many women we try to find security in men. The problem is that our security in ourselves and in our womanhood cannot come from men. I love how Beth says it “Nothing is more baffling than our attempt to derive our womanhood from our men.” Men and women are different and handle their insecurities in different fashions, let’s face it women are typically more emotional than men. For many years I tried to find my security in men. My parents divorced when I was eight and to be honest for many years I lived in fear of my Dad mainly because during my parents’ marriage there were a lot of arguments. In fact, from an early age I learned to walk on egg shells. So, when I grew up and started dating I tried to find the security that I did not necessarily get in my childhood in the different relationships, which was a huge mistake. Ultimately this did nothing but cause my insecurity to be worse.

Now, please understand it is not just men that women try to find security in we also try to find it in those around us, like friendship. Friendships would be another area that I have tried to find security in. For me trying to find security in friends is setting that person and our self up for a fall, which can hurt or even ruin a friendship. I have some that have had to be restored and some that still lay in ruin. Insecurity hurts, it can hurt you and it can hurt others.

Now, I am going to write something that you will see written in this series many times. Our security needs to be grounded in Christ. If we are secure in Christ the rest will fall into place.

So, my question to you is this; are you ready to walk away and leave behind the stronghold of insecurity? Are you tired of it running your life? Understand these questions cannot be answered by anyone else other than you.

I look forward to your comments or questions.

Tracy

4 thoughts on “Are you ready to change (Insecurity Series Part 2)

  1. Yes! I love this post! And you’re so right about how you have to get so mad and sick of it before you finally say, “you know what, I don’t HAVE to be like this!”

    I’ve come such a long way, but I know that I still need to be freed from insecurity in so many areas of my life. Thank you for the encouragement and awesome post! -Audry Cece

  2. It’s a journey, Tracey, and yes, I need to be mad enough to step away from insecurity. It’s happening slowly but surely. Beth’s book was the opening to this new journey. Let’s agree to pray for each other to make it to a place of security in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

